Home / Small Business / Best Accounting Software for Small Businesses

Small Business · All prices verified 2026-10-08

Best accounting software for small businesses (2026)

Accounting software does two jobs: it keeps your books clean enough for taxes, and it gets you paid — invoicing, expense tracking, and reports that show whether the business is actually making money. The spread in this category is remarkable: the cheapest credible option we verified costs $0, while the industry standard starts at $38/month for a single user. Every price below was verified against each provider's official site on October 8, 2026, with QuickBooks re-verified on October 12, 2026 after another Intuit price increase.

The honest finding: most freelancers and very small businesses don't need to pay anything. Wave's free plan covers unlimited invoicing and bookkeeping with real double-entry accounting. You start paying when you need payroll, multi-user access, inventory, or the software your accountant already uses — and that's where the price ladder runs from $19/month to $340/month. We unpack what each tier actually includes, because 'starting at' prices in this category hide meaningful caps: 5 clients here, 20 invoices a month there, one user on the cheapest plan.

How we make money: Unpack Money may receive compensation when you click certain links or apply for products through our site. Compensation may affect where products appear, but it does not determine our editorial evaluations. Learn more

Our top picks

Best free plan

Wave Financial

Unpack Money score: 90/100

Verified Oct 8, 2026

Genuinely free accounting with unlimited invoicing — the $0 plan is real, not a trial.

See the deep dive →

Best for invoicing

FreshBooks

Unpack Money score: 88/100

Verified Oct 23, 2026

The smoothest invoice-to-payment loop we verified, from $23/month. Lite caps at 5 clients.

Read the full review →

Best for growing businesses

Xero

Unpack Money score: 86/100

Verified Oct 26, 2026

Clean accounting that scales, from $27/month. Growing ($59/mo) is the sweet spot.

See the deep dive →

Best ecosystem

Intuit QuickBooks Online

Unpack Money score: 84/100

Verified Oct 12, 2026

The industry standard from $38/month — priciest entry, deepest integrations, most accountants.

See the deep dive →

Compare all options

ProductStarting priceFree trial / planBest forOur scoreCheck price
Wave Financial
Verified Oct 8, 2026
From $0Free plan (forever) — no trial neededFreelancers and solopreneurs who want real accounting software for free90/100Check price
FreshBooks
Verified Oct 23, 2026
From $23/mo30-day free trial + 30-day money-back guaranteeFreelancers and service businesses that invoice clients constantly88/100Check price
Xero
Verified Oct 26, 2026
From $27/moFree trial offered (exact length not stated on pricing page)Growing businesses that want clean accounting with room to scale86/100Check price
Intuit QuickBooks Online
Verified Oct 12, 2026
From $38/moPage titled 'Pricing & Free Trial' — trial terms not detailed (historically trial OR discount, not both)Businesses that want the standard their accountant already uses84/100Check price

Prices verified from each provider's official site — oldest check 2026-10-08. Prices change — confirm before you buy.

Make your decision

Not just a table — here's how to choose, who should walk away, and our verdict.

At a glance

AspectWave Financial
Wave
Verified Oct 8, 2026
FreshBooks
FreshBooks
Verified Oct 23, 2026
Xero
Xero
Verified Oct 26, 2026
Intuit
QuickBooks Online
Verified Oct 12, 2026
Best forFreelancers and solopreneurs who want real accounting software for freeFreelancers and service businesses that invoice clients constantlyGrowing businesses that want clean accounting with room to scaleBusinesses that want the standard their accountant already uses
CostFrom $0 · Free plan (forever) — no trial neededFrom $23/mo · 30-day free trial + 30-day money-back guaranteeFrom $27/mo · Free trial offered (exact length not stated on pricing page)From $38/mo · Page titled 'Pricing & Free Trial' — trial terms not detailed (historically trial OR discount, not both)
Main advantageThe only genuinely free accounting software we verified with no invoice or client caps — unlimited invoicing and bookkeeping at $0The best invoicing experience we verified — built for businesses that live on invoicesClean, modern interface with strong bank reconciliation on every planThe industry standard — the easiest software to find an accountant who knows it
Biggest drawbackStarter requires manual bank-transaction entry — automatic import is Pro-onlyLite caps billable clients at 5 — easy to outgrow for a busy freelancerEarly caps invoices/quotes at 20 and bills at 5 per month — easy to outgrowMost expensive entry point we verified: $38/month for a single user on Simple Start

Choose the right one

Choose Wave Financial Wave if…

  • you're a freelancer or solopreneur who wants real accounting for $0
  • you can live with manual bank entry and chatbot support on the free plan

See the deep dive →

Choose FreshBooks FreshBooks if…

  • invoicing, proposals, and time tracking are your daily workflow
  • you have 5 or fewer billable clients — or you'll pay for Plus ($43/month)

See the deep dive →

Choose Xero Xero if…

  • you've outgrown invoicing-only tools and want clean, scalable accounting
  • you need multi-currency or project tracking (budget for Established at $97/month)

See the deep dive →

Choose Intuit QuickBooks Online if…

  • your accountant works in QuickBooks — that compatibility is worth the premium
  • you need inventory, multiple users, or the deepest integration ecosystem

See the deep dive →

Neither is ideal if…

  • you have no revenue yet and just need to track startup costs — a spreadsheet still wins
  • you need full payroll as the core job — that's a payroll-service decision, not an accounting-app one
  • your business is inventory-heavy retail — you need inventory-first software, not these

Better alternatives

Unpack Money Verdict

Start with Wave if you're a freelancer — the $0 plan is genuinely complete accounting, not a trial. Choose FreshBooks when invoicing is your daily work and you bill 5 or fewer clients (otherwise budget for Plus). Pick Xero's Growing plan ($59/month) when you've outgrown invoicing tools but don't need the QuickBooks ecosystem. Choose QuickBooks when your accountant demands it or you need inventory and multi-user depth — and budget the add-ons, because payroll and payments are never included.

Saved comparisons live on your dashboard — in your browser only.

Wave Financial

Verified Oct 8, 2026

Wave's Starter plan is genuinely free — not a trial: unlimited estimates, invoices, bills, and bookkeeping records at $0. The Pro plan ($19/month billed monthly, or $190/year annually) adds automatic bank imports, receipt scanning, and live human support. Wave's support site (updated October 5, 2026) confirms the free plan has no time limit. Online payments cost 2.9% + $0.60 per card transaction; payroll is a separate paid add-on.

Pricing tiers

  • Starter: $0 — free — Unlimited estimates, invoices, bills, and bookkeeping records; mobile invoicing; chatbot support
  • Pro: $19/mo monthly ($190/yr annual) — Automatic bank transaction import, auto-categorization, unlimited receipt scanning, no Wave branding, live human support, user roles

What we like

  • The only genuinely free accounting software we verified with no invoice or client caps — unlimited invoicing and bookkeeping at $0
  • Pro at $19/month ($190/year) is the cheapest paid plan in this comparison by a wide margin
  • True double-entry accounting with full financial statements, even on the free plan
  • No trials, no promos, no pricing games — the price is the price

Watch out for

  • Starter requires manual bank-transaction entry — automatic import is Pro-only
  • Receipt scanning costs $8/month extra on Starter; only Pro includes it
  • Live human support requires Pro or a paid add-on; Starter gets chatbot support only
  • Online payment processing fees (2.9% + $0.60) apply on every paid invoice
  • Payroll is a paid add-on ($40/month + $6/person) — not bundled

Check current pricing on the official site

FreshBooks

Verified Oct 23, 2026

FreshBooks is built around invoicing: unlimited estimates, invoices, and recurring invoices on every plan, with online payments (cards, digital wallets, ACH, buy-now-pay-later) and late-payment reminders throughout. Lite starts at $23/month for up to 5 billable clients (currently $4.60/month under FreshBooks' 80%-off limited-time offer); Plus ($43/month) adds proposals, retainers, and double-entry accounting reports for up to 50 clients; Premium ($70/month) adds project profitability and accounts payable for unlimited clients. Team members, payroll, and advanced payments are paid add-ons on every tier.

Pricing tiers

  • Lite: $23/mo (currently $4.60/mo for 3 months — 80% off) — Up to 5 billable clients; unlimited invoicing, time tracking, expenses, bank import
  • Plus: $43/mo (currently $8.60/mo for 3 months — 80% off) — Up to 50 clients; adds proposals, retainers, e-signatures, double-entry reports, bank reconciliation
  • Premium: $70/mo (currently $14.00/mo for 3 months — 80% off) — Unlimited clients; adds project profitability, accounts payable, customization
  • Select: Custom — Complex needs and growing teams; custom plan with onboarding included

What we like

  • The best invoicing experience we verified — built for businesses that live on invoices
  • Every tier includes unlimited invoices, time tracking, and expenses with no caps
  • Current promotion is genuinely aggressive: 80% off for the first 3 months (Lite drops to $4.60/month)
  • 30-day free trial plus a 30-day money-back guarantee on paid plans

Watch out for

  • Lite caps billable clients at 5 — easy to outgrow for a busy freelancer
  • Lite has no double-entry accounting reports, bank reconciliation, or accountant access
  • Payroll ($40/month + $6/user), extra team members ($11/month each), and advanced payments all cost extra
  • No annual-billing discount shown — monthly billing only on the pricing page

Check current pricing on the official site

Xero

Verified Oct 26, 2026

Xero offers three plans: Early ($27/month) for new businesses, Growing ($59/month) with unlimited invoices and auto-reconciliation, and Established ($97/month) adding multi-currency, project tracking, and advanced analytics. (A secondary Xero page still shows pre-increase prices of $25/$55/$90 — the main US page reflects an October 2026 increase to $27/$59/$97.) All US plans include free standard domestic ACH bill payments. New subscribers get discounted pricing for the first 6 months. Payroll runs through partners, not Xero itself.

Pricing tiers

  • Early: $27/mo ($2.70/mo for first 6 months) — New businesses; 20 invoices/quotes and 5 bills per month; bank reconciliation; 30-day cash-flow forecast
  • Growing: $59/mo ($5.90/mo for first 6 months) — Unlimited invoices and bills; auto-reconcile; 60-day cash-flow forecast
  • Established: $97/mo ($9.70/mo for first 6 months) — Multi-currency; project time/cost tracking; expense and mileage claims; 180-day forecast; KPI analysis

What we like

  • Clean, modern interface with strong bank reconciliation on every plan
  • Growing ($59/month) removes Early's invoice caps — a sensible step up
  • Free domestic ACH bill payments included on all US plans
  • Multi-currency and project tracking available (Established) for international or project-based businesses

Watch out for

  • Early caps invoices/quotes at 20 and bills at 5 per month — easy to outgrow
  • Multi-currency, project tracking, and expense claims are Established-only ($97/month)
  • Payroll is not built in — US payroll runs through partners
  • Xero's own pages disagree on current prices ($27/$59/$97 vs $25/$55/$90) — confirm at signup

Check current pricing on the official site

Intuit QuickBooks Online

Verified Oct 12, 2026

QuickBooks Online is the best-known small-business accounting software, with a limited Free tier ($0/month: 1 user, 2 invoices/month, 1 bank connection, no accountant access) and four paid tiers: Simple Start ($38/month, 1 user), Essentials ($85/month, 3 users), Plus ($140/month, 5 users, the 'Customer Favorite'), and Advanced ($340/month, 25 users). All paid tiers are currently 50% off for 3 months. Every paid tier includes automated bookkeeping, invoicing, and bill management; inventory and project tracking start at Plus. Payroll and Payments are separate paid services. (Pricing verified on the official pricing page 2026-10-12 — Intuit raised prices again since our 2026-10-08 check; confirm current pricing before buying.)

Pricing tiers

  • Free: $0/mo — 1 user; track income and expenses, 2 invoices per month, 1 bank connection, chat support — no accountant access
  • Simple Start: $38/mo ($19/mo for 3 months) — 1 user; automated bookkeeping, invoicing, basic reports, bill management
  • Essentials: $85/mo ($42.50/mo for 3 months) — 3 users; adds bill pay, time tracking, enhanced AR/AP reports
  • Plus: $140/mo ($70/mo for 3 months) — 5 users; adds inventory tracking, project profitability, budgets (Customer Favorite)
  • Advanced: $340/mo ($170/mo for 3 months) — 25 users; workflow automation, custom reporting, cash-flow forecasting, Priority Circle support

What we like

  • The industry standard — the easiest software to find an accountant who knows it
  • Deepest feature set and largest third-party integration ecosystem we verified
  • Scales from solo (Simple Start) to 25 users (Advanced) without migrating
  • Automated bookkeeping genuinely reduces manual categorization work

Watch out for

  • Most expensive entry point we verified: $38/month for a single user on Simple Start
  • Payroll and Payments are separate paid services — not included in any tier
  • No bill management emphasis or time tracking below Essentials; no inventory below Plus
  • Advanced at $340/month is ~2.4x the Plus price — a steep jump
  • Pricing keeps moving: Intuit raised Essentials, Plus, and Advanced between our October 2026 verifications — confirm current pricing before buying

Check current pricing on the official site

How we rate accounting software

Our editorial score starts with what a small business gets for the money: the capability of the free or cheapest tier, the price of the first plan that covers real accounting (not just invoicing), and how punishing the caps are — client limits, invoice limits, user limits. We penalize essential features sold as add-ons (payroll, extra users) when pricing the true cost, and we flag it when a provider's own pages disagree on current prices. Every price is verified against the provider's official site — never review aggregators — and date-stamped. Read our full rating methodology.

FAQs

Is free accounting software actually usable?
Wave's is. The free Starter plan includes unlimited invoices, estimates, bills, and bookkeeping with true double-entry accounting — not a trial, no time limit. The tradeoffs: manual bank-transaction entry, no receipt scanning, and chatbot-only support unless you upgrade to Pro ($19/month).
Why do Xero's own pages show different prices?
We noticed this too: Xero's main US page shows $27/$59/$97 (consistent with an October 2026 increase) while a secondary page still shows $25/$55/$90. We used the main pricing page's figures and flagged the conflict — confirm the price at signup.
Why do QuickBooks prices seem to change?
Intuit adjusts QuickBooks pricing periodically — the official pricing page showed $38/$85/$140/$340 on 2026-10-12, up from $38/$75/$115/$275 on 2026-10-08. Promos (currently 50% off for 3 months) also rotate. Always confirm on quickbooks.intuit.com/pricing before buying.
Do I need the software my accountant uses?
It helps a lot. If your accountant works in QuickBooks, using QuickBooks eliminates friction at tax time — that convenience is a genuine part of its value. If you don't have an accountant yet, don't pay the QuickBooks premium just in case.
What's the real cost beyond the plan price?
Add-ons. FreshBooks charges extra for team members ($11/month each) and payroll ($40/month + $6/user). QuickBooks sells payroll and payments separately. Wave charges $40/month + $6/person for payroll. Budget the add-ons you'll actually use, not just the plan.
How does Unpack Money make money?
We may earn compensation when you click certain links or sign up for products through our site — clearly disclosed wherever it appears. Compensation may affect where products appear, but it does not determine our editorial evaluations or scores. Learn more.

Sources

Every price on this page was verified against each provider's official website. Verification dates differ by provider — the oldest is 2026-10-08. We never use aggregator sites as sources.