A personal loan is one of the cheapest ways to borrow a lump sum — if you get the rate right.
The difference between the best and worst offers we verified is nearly 30 percentage points of APR, which on a
$15,000 loan can mean thousands of dollars. We verified every APR range, fee, and term on this page against the
lender's own website on October 5, 2026. Two things we found while verifying: Marcus by Goldman Sachs no longer
offers personal loans to new applicants, and LendingClub has rebranded to Happen — both are reflected below.
What separates these loans isn't just the starting APR. Origination fees are deducted from your loan proceeds,
so a 9.99% fee means a $10,000 loan arrives as $9,001. Some lenders publish their minimum credit score; most don't.
And one lender in our set won't show you its worst-case rate at all. We unpack the catches alongside the rates,
because the cheapest advertised loan isn't always the cheapest loan you get.
How we make money: Unpack Money may receive compensation when you click certain links or apply for products through our site. Compensation may affect where products appear, but it does not determine our editorial evaluations. Learn more
Our top picks
Best overall
SoFi Personal Loans
6.99%–35.49% fixed (includes 0.25% autopay + 0.25% member discount; as of 10/5/26)
Unpack Money score: 90/100
The lowest starting APR among bank lenders we verified, no late fees, same-day funding, and a genuine no-origination-fee option. The most complete package in our set.
No fees of any kind, a published 660 minimum credit score, and next-business-day funding. The transparency here is rare — the $40,000 ceiling is the only real constraint.
The most accessible credit guidance in our set — borrowers under 600 'might not qualify,' per Prosper's own FAQ. Not the cheapest loan, but the most reachable one.
6.99%–35.49% fixed (includes 0.25% autopay + 0.25% member discount; as of 10/5/26)
$5,000–$100,000
24–84 months (2–7 years)
90/100
Discover Personal Loans
6.99%–24.99%
$2,500–$40,000
36–84 months (3–7 years)
86/100
LightStream (Truist) Personal Loans
9.99%–24.94% with AutoPay (varies by purpose); maximum APR 25.44%
$5,000–$100,000
24–240 months depending on loan type
84/100
Wells Fargo Personal Loan
As low as 6.74% (upper bound not published; rates as of 07/10/2026)
$3,000–$100,000
12–84 months
80/100
Happen (formerly LendingClub) Personal Loans
5.96%–35.99% (advertised rates valid as of 07/06/2026; subject to change)
$1,000–$75,000
24–84 months
78/100
Upgrade Personal Loans
7.74%–35.99%
$1,000–$50,000
24–84 months
74/100
Prosper Personal Loans
8.99%–35.99%
$2,000–$50,000
24–72 months (2–6 years)
72/100
APRs verified 2026-10-05 from each lender's official site. Rates are fixed at approval and can change for new applicants at any time.
Unpack Money score: 90/100
SoFi Personal Loans
SoFi's personal loan pairs the lowest starting APR among bank lenders we verified (6.99%) with
the most borrower-friendly fee structure in our set: no late fees whatsoever, and a genuine no-origination-fee
option for borrowers who'd rather not have 7% skimmed off their proceeds. Same-day funding rounds out a package
that has no obvious trap.
The fine print worth reading: the advertised 6.99% reflects both a 0.25% autopay discount and a 0.25% SoFi Plus
member discount, so the rate you'll actually be quoted depends on enrolling in both. And the range runs to 35.49%
at the top — the rate floor is excellent, but the ceiling is not. Check your rate (soft inquiry) and read the
offer before you sign.
What we like
Lowest minimum APR among bank lenders we verified (6.99%)
No late fees whatsoever
Same-day funding
No-origination-fee option available
Watch out for
Origination fee up to 7% if you don't choose the no-fee option
Top APR of 35.49% is steep for weaker credit
Lowest rates require autopay and SoFi Plus membership
Terms verified 2026-10-05 from the lender's official site: View current terms
Unpack Money score: 86/100
Discover Personal Loans
Discover's personal loan is the transparency pick: no fees of any kind, a published 660 minimum
credit score on its rate estimator, and a $25,000 minimum income requirement stated up front. Most lenders in our
set publish neither. The 6.99% starting APR matches SoFi's floor, and next-business-day funding keeps it fast.
The constraint is size: $40,000 is the smallest maximum in our comparison, so it's not the loan for a major
renovation. Also note the use restrictions — you can't use it to pay Capital One or Discover accounts or for
education expenses. Within those bounds, it's one of the cleanest offers we verified.
What we like
No fees of any kind
Publishes a 660 minimum credit score and $25K income requirement — unusually transparent
Next-business-day funding with same-day decision
Watch out for
$40,000 maximum is the smallest ceiling in our set
Cannot be used to pay Capital One/Discover accounts or education expenses
No autopay discount stated
Terms verified 2026-10-05 from the lender's official site: View current terms
Unpack Money score: 84/100
LightStream (Truist) Personal Loans
LightStream is the fee purist's loan: the official FAQ states its loans do not have any fees —
no origination, no late fees, no prepayment penalty — plus a 0.50% autopay discount, the largest
we verified. Terms run up to 20 years depending on loan type, which is unmatched in our set.
The trade-offs are real. The 9.99% starting APR is the highest floor we verified, and LightStream states it only
approves good-to-excellent credit profiles — this is not a loan for rebuilding credit. Per its own data, only
33% of lowest-rate applicants (Apr–Jun 2026) actually qualified for the lowest rate. Excellent-credit borrowers
should still compare starting rates before assuming the fee-free structure wins.
What we like
Zero fees of any kind — no origination, late, or prepayment fees
0.50% autopay discount, the largest we verified
Repayment terms up to 20 years
Watch out for
Starting APR of 9.99% is the highest floor in our set
Good-to-excellent credit only — not for fair-credit borrowers
Only 33% of lowest-rate applicants qualified for the lowest rate (Apr–Jun 2026)
Terms verified 2026-10-05 from the lender's official site: View current terms
Unpack Money score: 80/100
Wells Fargo Personal Loan
Wells Fargo advertises the lowest starting rate we verified — 6.74% APR — with no
origination, closing, or prepayment fees and same-day funding for 97% of customers (Apr–Jun 2026). On the
starting rate alone, it's the headline act.
Two catches keep it out of our top picks. First, it's existing customers only — if you don't
already bank with Wells Fargo, you can't apply. Second, the upper APR bound is not published, so you
can't see the worst case before applying; the 6.74% also assumes excellent credit, a $10,000+ loan, a 3-year term,
and the 0.25% relationship discount. Late fees exist but the amount isn't stated. A strong offer with a narrow door
and a hidden ceiling.
What we like
Lowest advertised starting APR we verified (6.74%)
No origination, closing, or prepayment fees
Same-day funding for 97% of customers (Apr–Jun 2026)
Watch out for
Existing Wells Fargo customers only
Upper APR bound not published — you can't see the worst case before applying
Late fees exist but the amount is not stated
Terms verified 2026-10-05 from the lender's official site: View current terms
Unpack Money score: 78/100
Happen (formerly LendingClub) Personal Loans
Happen — the rebrand of LendingClub — advertises the lowest starting APR in our set at
5.96%, with funding in as little as 24 hours and a soft inquiry to check your rate. On paper, the rate
floor beats everyone.
The asterisk: those advertised rates were dated July 6, 2026 — three months before our
verification, and Happen notes they're subject to change without notice. The origination fee runs to 8%,
and the late fee and minimum credit score aren't stated. Treat the 5.96% as a starting point for a fresh quote,
not a promise — confirm the current rate before you apply.
What we like
Lowest advertised starting APR in our set (5.96%)
Funding in as little as 24 hours
Soft inquiry to check rate
Watch out for
Advertised rates dated 07/06/2026 — three months old at our verification
Origination fee up to 8%
Late fee and minimum credit score not stated
Terms verified 2026-10-05 from the lender's official site: View current terms
Unpack Money score: 74/100
Upgrade Personal Loans
Upgrade's distinction is accessibility: a $1,000 minimum loan, the lowest in our set, with funding
within 1 business day of clearing verifications and no prepayment penalty. For a small, fast loan, the structure
works.
The cost is the origination fee: 1.85%–9.99%, deducted from your proceeds. On a $10,000 loan
at the top of that range, $999 never reaches your account — you repay the full $10,000 plus interest. The APR
range runs to 35.99%, and the late fee amount and autopay discount percentage aren't published. Fine for small
amounts; compare the fee-inclusive cost before borrowing large.
What we like
Lowest minimum loan ($1,000) in our set
Funding within 1 business day of verifications
No prepayment penalty; soft inquiry to check rate
Watch out for
Origination fee of 1.85%–9.99% is deducted from your loan proceeds
Top APR of 35.99%
Late fee amount and autopay discount % not published
Terms verified 2026-10-05 from the lender's official site: View current terms
Unpack Money score: 72/100
Prosper Personal Loans
Prosper is our fair-credit pick on accessibility: its official FAQ says borrowers under 600 'might not
qualify,' making ~600 the most reachable published guidance in our set. Funding lands as soon as 1 business
day, there's no prepayment penalty, and checking your rate is a soft inquiry.
The price of that accessibility is real: a 1%–9.99% origination fee and a starting APR of
8.99%, the second-highest floor we verified. Prosper also notes its average APR on funded 3-year loans (Jan–Mar
2026) was 24.19% — a useful reality check on where most borrowers land. If your credit is fair rather than
strong, it's reachable; just price the fee into your comparison.
What we like
Most accessible credit guidance in our set (~600)
Funding as soon as 1 business day
No prepayment penalty; soft inquiry to check rate
Watch out for
1%–9.99% origination fee
Starting APR of 8.99% is high
Late fee not stated
Terms verified 2026-10-05 from the lender's official site: View current terms
How we rate personal loans
Our editorial score starts with the verified APR range — the low end matters most, since that's the rate
you're competing for — then adjusts for origination fees (deducted from proceeds, so they hit twice),
late-fee policy, qualification transparency, funding speed, and how honest the lender is about the worst case.
A lender that won't publish its upper APR bound or its late fee can't score at the top, no matter how low its
starting rate. We verify every number against the lender's official site, never aggregators, and we date-stamp
each verification. Read our full rating methodology.
Personal loan FAQs
What is a personal loan?
A fixed-rate, unsecured loan — you borrow a lump sum and repay it in equal monthly installments over a set term, with no collateral required. Every loan on this page is fixed-rate, so your payment never changes.
How do personal loan APRs work?
Your APR is set when you apply, based on your creditworthiness, and stays fixed for the life of the loan. Lenders advertise a range (for example, 6.99%–35.99%); borrowers with the strongest credit get the low end. Autopay and relationship discounts can shave 0.25%–0.50% off the rate.
What's the difference between an origination fee and interest?
An origination fee is deducted from your loan proceeds up front — a 9.99% fee on a $10,000 loan means you receive $9,001 but repay the full $10,000 plus interest. Interest accrues over time on the balance. A loan with no origination fee and a slightly higher APR can be cheaper than a low-APR loan with a big fee.
Can I get a personal loan with fair credit?
Possibly. Prosper's official FAQ says borrowers under 600 'might not qualify,' making ~600 the most accessible published guidance in our set. Discover publishes a 660 minimum for its rate estimator. Most lenders don't publish a minimum at all — LightStream states it only approves good-to-excellent credit profiles.
How fast can I get the money?
SoFi, LightStream, and Wells Fargo all offer same-day funding in the right circumstances; Discover and Prosper fund as soon as the next business day; Upgrade funds within 1 business day of clearing verifications; Happen sends money in as little as 24 hours. Every timeline depends on completing verification steps first.
Why isn't Marcus by Goldman Sachs on this list?
Marcus discontinued personal loans for new applicants. Its official site now lists only savings and CD products, with no loan application page. Existing Marcus borrowers are unaffected — servicing continues — but we only list products new applicants can actually get.
What happened to LendingClub?
LendingClub rebranded to Happen. The old lendingclub.com/personal-loans address returns a 404, and the company's own navigation now points to happen.com/personal-loan. The loans are provided by Happen Bank, N.A., Member FDIC.
Are the rates on this page fixed?
Yes. Every loan in our comparison is fixed-rate: the APR you're assigned at approval is the APR for the entire term. None of these loans has a variable rate that can rise later.
Does checking my rate hurt my credit score?
No — every lender in our set lets you check your rate with a soft inquiry, which doesn't affect your score. A hard inquiry happens only if and when the loan is issued.
How does Unpack Money make money?
We may earn compensation when you click certain links or apply for products through our site — clearly disclosed wherever it appears. Compensation may affect where products appear, but it does not determine our editorial evaluations or scores. Learn more.
Sources
Every APR, fee, and term on this page was verified against the lender's official website on the date shown. We never use aggregator sites as sources for rates.